Haworth Art Gallery
This time last year we set off in snow and ice on our March Sunday Run. So, for this year’s run we planned a route closer to home and, after leaving our meeting point at the Old Stone Trough Kelbrook, we headed into Barnoldswick for an early “pit stop”.
The weather, much milder than 2018 – still showery and cool but clear – gave the 20 of us, in eleven cars, good views of the surrounding areas.
The café at Ouzledale Foundry (noted for its Esse Stoves) ensured we were kept warm and well fed [your secretary particularly enjoyed his sausage “butty”] and, thus fortified, we headed over to Thornton – In – Craven towards Elslack. On, over the moors above Colne to Trawden, we had good views over the countryside and the surrounding hills. This was followed by a short urban sprint through Brierfield towards the M65. Passing under the motorway and to our destination, The Haworth Art Gallery in Accrington.
Built in 1909 by William and Ann Haworth, wealthy mill owners, they willed the property to the local council for all the people of Accrington along with a Trust to ensure its maintenance. Also to help maintain the property, it has become a hive of industry with artist workshops, a restaurant and a wedding venue. For those who like the Arts and Crafts period of architecture, then this small gallery, which houses the largest collection of Tiffany glass in Europe, is a ‘must‘. A short and fascinating talk from the Gallery Manager prefaced our tour and an excellent lunch in their restaurant.
Despite the grey weather it was an entertaining day and a venue we will surely return to in the future. Thanks to Janet for this review.